keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_left keyboard_arrow_down triangle-up triangle-down search facebook twitter circle-with-cross cross email keyboard-arrow-right info

Sightings archive

October 2015 sightings

  • In bold type are sightings that are uncommon either by rarity, date or number seen.
  • Click on photos for a larger version.

Saturday 31st October:
Lea Farm GP – Little Egret, 7 Herring Gull, 2 Egyptian Geese, 4 Greylag Geese (R Marsh)
Lavell’s Lake – Kingfisher (L Seward)

ringed gullringed gull legs
Colour ringed Black-headed Gull “7HX” @ LFGP, G Emmett.

Friday 30th October:
Lea Farm GP – Reed Bunting, Stonechat (G Emmett & T Guyatt)
Lavell’s Lake – 95 Gadwall, 30 Wigeon, 30 Teal, 8 Shoveler (FJC)
Sandford Lake – 130 Wigeon, 40 Gadwall, 11 Teal, 12 Shoveler (FJC)

Wednesday 28th October:
Landfill – Little Owl briefly in usual oak tree, 10+ Skylark over (FJC)

Tuesday 27th October:
Lavell’s Lake – Water Rail heard in reeds by Teal scrape, 7 Snipe around Tern scrape, 12 Shoveler, 30 Lapwing, 24 Wigeon (P Scudamore)

Sunday 25th October:
Lavell’s Lake3 Goosander over (FJC)

Saturday 24th October:
Lea Farm GP – 7 Herring Gull, 4 Little Egret, Nuthatch (R Marsh)
Lavell’s Lake – 16 Snipe (R Marsh)

Friday 23rd October:
Lea Farm GP – 9 Linnet, 4 Lesser Redpoll, 12 Fieldfare, 7 Skylark & 1 Swallow all flew over (FJC); 4 Little Egret, Coal Tit on feeders (G Emmett)
Lavell’s Lake – 3 Cetti’s Warbler & 35 Lesser Redpoll ringed (T Alexander)

Tuesday 20th October
Lavell’s Lake – 7 Little Egret flushed by hot air balloon and flew over landfill from north (FJC)

Monday 19th October
Dinton Pastures – 6 Swallow low over the old golf course, Goldcrest foraging in oak tree (R Marsh)
Lavell’s Lake – Song Thrush & 7 Fieldfare in car park field, 2 Little Grebe & Treecreeper at Teal hide (R Marsh); 12 Snipe around Tern scrape (G Emmett)

Sunday 18th October
Lea Farm GP – 5 Snipe, Grey Wagtail, 2nd winter Common Gull, 2 Herring Gull, 10 Stock Dove (R Marsh)
Lavell’s Lake – 3 Goldcrest foraging in same tree along Loddon (R Marsh); Lesser Redpoll & Blackcap in car park field, 20 Snipe around Tern scrape, Water Rail seen briefly on scrape, 2 Cetti’s Warbler heard (FJC)
Landfill150+ Golden Plover flying over A4 area, 2 House Martin over > south, 100+ Redwing over > southwest, 9 Fieldfare over, 10+ Skylark on landfill (FJC)

Saturday 17th October
Lea Farm GP – 4 Ring-necked Parakeet, 5 Snipe (G Emmett)
Lavell’s Lake – 2 Swallow over, Chiffchaff in car park field (FJC); 13 Snipe around Tern scrape (R Marsh)
Landfill – 80+ Redwing over > SW (FJC)

Snipe at Tern scrape, R Marsh

Friday 16th October
Lea Farm GPCommon Gull (A Rymer); 6 Snipe, Grey Wagtail, Kingfisher, Reed Bunting (G Emmett)

Thursday 15th October
Landfill – c200 Redwing SW in one hour, groups of 50+80+20+30+20,  16 Fieldfare SW, 2-3 Brambling over West, 9 Skylark on landfill, 2-3 more flew South. 09:56 c200-250 Golden Plover flying over A4 area (FJC)
Lea Farm GPBarn Owl flew past hide @ 07.15 (M Walford); 19 Snipe, Grey Wagtail, Kingfisher (R Marsh)

Wednesday 14th October
Landfillc33 Golden Plover > west over the A4 area (FJC)

Tuesday 13th October
Sandford Lake – 37 Teal, 10 Shoveler (R Marsh)
Lavell’s Lake – Little Grebe, 10 Snipe, Sparrowhawk (R Marsh)

Monday 12th October
Lea Farm GP2 Pintail (M Walford); Sparrowhawk (G Emmett)
Lavell’s LakeBittern flew from behind sand martin wall on island to reeds at the back of Teal scrape (T Alexander)

Sunday 11th October
Lea Farm GP – Snipe, Green Sandpiper (R Marsh), 77 Gadwall (R Righelato)
Lavell’s Lake – 2 Goldcrest (R Marsh); 10 Snipe (P Doctor)
Dinton Pastures – 122 Gadwall (R Righelato)

Saturday 10th October
Lea Farm GP – 11 Redwing NW over landfill, 11 Lesser Redpoll SW over landfill, Coal Tit, 2 Grey Wagtail over (FJC)

Friday 9th October
Lea Farm GP – 4+ Lesser Redpoll in trees near hide (G Emmett)
Lavell’s Lake – 4 Blackcap in car park field (F JC)
Lesser Redpoll, Geoff Emmett

Thursday 8th October
Lea Farm GP – Reed Warbler, Sedge Warbler, Cetti’s Warbler, Snipe (A Rymer); 120+ Lapwing, 2 Nuthatch, Green Woodpecker (R Marsh); Peregrine circling for 5 minutes (FJC)
Lavell’s Lake – 7 Snipe, Little Grebe (R Marsh)
Black Swan Lake – Hobby over > south (B Bennett)

Wednesday 7th October
Lea Farm GP – Reed Warbler (B Bennett)

Tuesday 6th October
Lea Farm GP – Sedge Warbler (M Walford)

Monday 5th October
Lea Farm GP – Dunlin & Cetti’s Warbler both heard only ( M Walford)
Lavell’s Lake – 3 Snipe, 30 Teal (P Scudamore)

Sunday 4th October:
Lavell’s Lake – 3 Snipe, Sedge Warbler, Coal Tit – heard only (FJC)

Saturday 3rd October
Lea Farm GP – 1st winter Common Gull, 2 Little Egret, Snipe (M Walford)
Sandford Lake4 Pintail (B Bennett); Siskin, Hobby (L Blundell)
Lavell’s LakeMediterranean Gull, adult winter circling over car park (M Walford); Swallow from Bittern hide (L Blundell)

pintail- sandford
Pintail (female), Dave Rimes

med gull - lavells
Mediterranean Gull, Dave Rimes

Friday 2nd October
Sandford Lake – 2 Pintail (M Walford)
Lea Farm GP – 6 Snipe, 2 Grey Wagtail, 2 Nuthatch, Song Thrush, 2 Little Egret, 2 Reed Bunting, Chiffchaff, 2 Herring Gull, Lesser Black-backed Gull (L Seward & R Marsh); Wheatear (FJC)
Lavell’s Lake – Cetti’s Warbler singing ( M Walford); 4 Snipe, 4 Little Grebe (L Seward & R Marsh)

Thursday 1st October
Lea Farm GP – 2 Snipe, Nuthatch, Reed Bunting (R Bryant)